The first bridge across the city port was built in 1928.
The original bridge was destroyed in 1944 during the bombing of the city.
On the same place, in 1949, a temporary pontoon/floating bridge was anchored on brass barrels. It was not simple to cross the bridge during strong southern (Jugo) and northern (Bura) winds.
Finally in 1962, with a large feast, today’s bridge was opened for use. It was forecasted to be used only for pedestrians. It is 152 meters long, and six meters wide.